Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hackmd.org
Zymic Webmaster Forums > General Discussion > Chatter Box
Nexus
I apologise if this is in the wrong board but I believe anything under the category of hacking/cracking could be deemed as "Serious Business."

I have reason to believe the owner of a website titled HackMD under the domain listed in the topic title to be a hacker. I also have reason to believe this user was a former member of Zymic as the domain still redirects here.

Now, I've banned him on my forum for obvious reasons and will unban him if this proves to be false. But until then, he remains banned for further investigation which is understandable, by all accounts. I don't need a damned hacker risking my cousins website. Fair enough?

I am at the point going to report him to his ISP. However, because I'm not legal-sassy I don't know if I should release his IP or not. I have it, and am not releasing it for privacy/legal reasons but I want to know if I should, to his ISP. I'm not going to if I can get into a court battle over this however. So that's why I'm asking for some help on the matter.

Thanks and all help, as usual, is greatly appreciated.

EDIT: Forgot to include some links.

http://turk-h.org/defacement/view/260582/hackmd.org/ and;
http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.h...1&pageNo=14 - has "hackmd" references and;
http://209.85.173.104/search?q=cache:jWC-3...;cd=1&gl=nz - Can anyone translate this for me, please?
machine
Hey Nexus, as far as that translation is concerned, the language is [I'm sure you have found by trying to use the Google translator] is Romanian.

And since Google is unable to translate it, I suggest you try to use one of the online translators listed here.

I haven't checked them out individually, but I think some of them will surely be able to do it. All the best!
Nexus
I'm not so sure it's Romanian as no translator can understand a word on the site...
machine
Well I'll be...

You see, I just copied some text [this bit:"Cred ca pentru o anumita perioada..."] from that un-translatable page and did a Google search on those words, working on the thoeory that if it is indeed a valid language, there should be other sites that use at least some of those words.

And know what? They do indeed! Here are the sites that use some or all of the words from that line ["Cred ca pentru o anumita perioada"]

I went to some of those sites and from their contact detials, I see that they are in Romania indeed, though why no translators are working is byond me...
Nexus
Anyone speak fluent in Romanian here? xD This is fucked up. But this is a serious issue. I haven't been hacked yet, and he may not be a hacker, but regardless, he's suspended until further investigation and I'm going to need hard evidence to prove his innocence. I'm not risking peoples security just because I was stupid enough to unban him.
iamandy
Surely.. If he was a "real hacker" he'd use a proxy. So how do you know If that's his real IP address?
Nexus
I don't unfortunately, do I?
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.